Starbucks adds an addictive chemical to their coffee that makes you crave it fortnightly, smartass.

23 Mar

I haven’t been writing as much as I’d like because I’ll admit:  I’m not doing as well at this frugal deal as I’d like. 

I blame Starbucks.

My favorite movie in college was “So I Married an Axe Murderer.”  There’s a line where Mike Meyers (playing his own Scottish Dad) is talking about KFC and states they put an addictive chemical in their chicken that makes you crave it fortnightly…smartass.  And that’s about how I feel about Starbucks.  I’m sure you could argue that the chemical is caffeine.  But then, that’s not conspiracy enough for me.

                                                Image

I got another couple of $3 checks in the mail for filling out online surveys. And I honestly have a garage full of bottles waiting to be returned.  I have no idea how much that will be.  $23?  $30?  Not more than 30, I’m sure.  I’ll bring them to the recycling center when my Mom is in town in two weeks.  I’m not bringing the baby to a recycling center.  And I can’t fit her AND the bottles in my car. 
Not been doing so hot at not spending money eating out to lunch, either.  Is it laziness?  Probably.  Laziness and a heaping side order of forgetfulness.  I leave my lunch at home a lot. 

Image

I haven’t touched the money I HAVE saved and that’s a pretty big deal for me.  I’ve gotten to this place before and then have had to take the money out to pay for….something.  Whatever.  Groceries, a bill…a new sweater.   So I’m budgeting a bit better than I was.

I need to celebrate the little victories.

High five.  (That’s Addie’s new trick of the week.)

Image

 

2 Responses to “Starbucks adds an addictive chemical to their coffee that makes you crave it fortnightly, smartass.”

  1. joshua hurst March 24, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Its okay… You have money in the bank and like you said, its staying there! You have almost $200 and thats pretty damn good if you look back and compare it to what you had last year right? Just keep at it because those $3 checks add up and $30 worth of cans/bottles is nothng to sneeze at!

    I’ll be honest, my budget is a little tight as as excited as I am to read another blog entry, I’m glad you didnt have a huge depost for me to keep up with. Hopefully by your next entry we will both be caught up and saving!

  2. Suzy Koehler March 26, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    Also one of my favorite movies! Don’t be so hard yourself, love. You are still a new mommy and still have baby-brain, so forgetting your lunch is par for the course. Also, I think you need to build-in little rewards like coffee or whatever just to keep you going. The thing is to be conscious about it, and you’re doing that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

