Didn’t mean to blow that $220, but there you have it.

15 Jun

I’m not making eye-contact.  I know you know I’ve been avoiding you.  I’m sorry.  I just wasn’t ready to admit that the whole $220.28 I had saved was gone. 

But it is.

I woke up one day, got in the car with Addie to hit Babies R Us (I hate that place anyway) and realized my car was driving funny.  I’m not an expert on cars, but I’ve had this one for 8 years or so and seem to know when it just doesn’t feel right.  It kind of felt like I had a flat tire, actually.  So being the responsible driver I am, I pulled over and got out to have a gander.  It wasn’t a flat, but my front driver’s side tire looked pregnant and about to give birth any moment.  Awesome.  I didn’t even know it was screwing around.

 


(Actual car. She should have used protection. Especially if she was messing around with this guy….)

So I almost gladly scrapped the Babies R Us outing and hit the nearest tire store.  Addie doesn’t like going ANYWHERE, really, and the tire store was no exception.  Sometimes I wish people in line behind me would talk to her.  When she’s being afraid of people, she stops squirming and screaming.

Anyway…the gentleman behind the counter agreed that I needed a new tire and then quoted me for 4 new tires.  “How much for just one? One really cheap one?” 

Apparently, you aren’t supposed to get just 1. SO I got 2.  Any guesses on how much that adventure cost?  I won’t make you guess, I’ll just tell you:  $256.

Sweet.

I don’t know why, in the name of sweet baby Jesus, every time I seem to save something, the universe sends me some awesome event to bite my savings account square in the ass, but it does. 

So there you have it.

I DID, however, collect some more bottles and return them the other day for $15.46.  Didn’t save it, though.  Bought food.  And coffee.  And a lottery ticket. 

I’ve also listed some things on Ebay, so hopefully they’ll sell and we can get this freak show back on the road.

In the meantime, I hope you all are enjoying your Summer!  Clip those coupons for hot dogs! They’re all over the place!

One Response to “Didn’t mean to blow that $220, but there you have it.”

  1. Suzy Koehler November 3, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    Uh, can you tell I’m cleaning out my inbox??? But I really MEANT to read this 3 months ago- really. It would have cheered me up from my shit sandwich of a summer.
    For Chrissakes Jen, it was tires. Not 32 oz of the new Justin Bieber perfume, or 37 pairs of plastic earrings from Claire’s Boutique. Last I checked, people need tires on their cars in LA, to go to WORK. Sure, you could take public transportation… I hear LA is great for that. 😉 Pardon my sarcasm, I just love you and think you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself. Our “emergency fund” ALWAYS ALWAYS gets sucked dry by car repairs. It’s damned discouraging, to say the least. Makes me say “F- it ” at least once a day.

Leave a Reply

